thegissilent

the G is silent [WOW… IT SEEMS THAT WE REALLY ARE DESTINED TO LIVE OUT THE SAME LIVES OVER AND OVER]

In MSC, words on February 18, 2009 at 22:19

Hmm.

So, this MacGuffin thing may have come to me sooner than I thought.

Let us consider what exactly it is about my daily experience that a) differs from most other people’s; b) might actually be humorous to people I don’t know.

Basically, I have to spell my name and explain my accent pretty much every single day of my life. Sometimes several times. And even if I were to move back to Nigeria (where the name Gbenga is as common as Tom), there would still be the matter of my accent.

And in addition to this, there’s the question of whether I pronounce my name ‘properly’ (i.e. with all the correct stresses) or just say my name is ‘benga’ and hope this is simple enough not to lead to questions (it very rarely does).

And I’m not done yet! There’s also also ALSO the fact that sometimes I just plain lie about where I’m from, what my name is and how I’ve come to live in London. Sometimes I just cannot face going through the whole story again, so I become Jonny from New York.

All seemingly good material to write about.

Let’s see.

  1. […] off in Leeds today… Remember that thing I said about how we seem destined to live out the same lives over and over again? Well, Leeds being a student town if ever there was one, I reckon there’s a strong folk […]

Comments are closed.

