thegissilent

COULD WELL BE THE, ER, MILLIONTH ‘A MILLI REMIX’, BUT WHAT THE HELL, EH?

In remixes on February 8, 2010 at 02:46

One of the first things that came into my head when I got Ableton was something I remember Moby saying in an interview with Q Magazine around the turn of the century. Sadly (or perhaps not?), I no longer have that issue of the mag so all I can do is paraphrase. I’m pretty sure I remember the spirit of the thing correctly even if I don’t remember the exact order of the words. Or, indeed, any of the words.

It went a little like this… “In the future you would be able to get into your car and tell your stereo to take the drums from ‘When The Levee Breaks’, the keyboards from ‘Once In A Lifetime’, the guitars from ‘In Bloom’ and a Japanese hiphop vocal, make the whole lot consonant harmonically and play the mix at 155bpm.”

If that sounds hellish to you, it was probably a wrong turn that brought you here. To me it sounds like a recipe for musical fun. I don’t think there’s enough fun in electronic music.

So on  sitting down and finally taking a proper look at Ableton, I suddenly thought, ‘well, until Moby’s computer program exists, maybe I can be it.’

It is, of course, no coincidence that this thought came to me after about six months of listening to Girl Talk’s ‘Night Ripper’, Niyi’s ‘Brotherhood of Truth Vol.1’ and Flying Lotus’s 2hr Essential Mix for the BBC.

But, anyway, this remix was one of the first things I did.

Musical cast in order of appearance:

Patrick Wolf – Hard Times (James Yuill remix)

Primal Scream – Kill All Hippies

Puff Daddy – Come With Me

Lil’ Wayne – A Milli

Akira – Sunday Morning

HI RES AUDIO HERRRRE – http://bit.ly/6XZIHs

