thegissilent

OLD YORK, OLD YORK

In mixes on March 13, 2010 at 11:13

When I started this blog, it was my intention to have four mixtape series that would feature regularly. I would cycle through them in a regular order and there would be an update every two weeks. Work kind of got in the way of that… remixes, DJ gigs, Metronomy recording and rehearsing, etc. Nevertheless, I think in one form or another, it’s something I’m going to do. Maybe not every two weeks, but there will be recurring mixtape themes.

This is the first one. To Make Similar will be chunks of things I’ve recorded during DJ gigs and then edited slightly. You will notice songs and song fragments that recur. You will also notice that it’s a bit rough round the edges!

While I was in York, a nice chap from Nouse (an online student paper for the university) had a chat with me about a few things. I think that interview will go up sometime soon along with a streamable version of this mix.

Can’t wait till then? Grab it below.

LO-RES.

HI-RES.

Excelsior!

Musical cast in order of appearance:

Bassment Jaxx – Where’s Your Head At?

Daft Punk – Around The World

Empire of the Sun – We Are The People

Gossip – Standing In The Way Of Control (Headman Remix)

Gossip – Standing In The Way Of Control (Soulwax Nite Version)

The Temper Trap – Sweet Disposition (Alan Wilkis Remix)

Klaxons – As Above, So Below (Justice Remix)

Metronomy – A Thing For Me

Metronomy – Holiday

Lil’ Wayne ft. Kanye West – Lollipop (Nasty Ways Remix)

