thegissilent

DIOLCH

In mixes on April 18, 2010 at 12:03

As readers of this blog will know, I couple of months ago I found myself DJing at a houseparty in the Cardiff kitchen of a lovely lady by the name of Jen Long. The whole thing was presented by Huw Stephens and broadcast on BBC Radio 1. I had such a blast that I made Huw and Jen a little mix to say thanks. Or, as I have been reliably informed the Welsh say, DIOLCH. Thanks Google Translate!

This mix features a bunch of Huw and Jen’s fave bands. As you can imagine, it’s quite heavy on the Welsh. I should say now, though, that the insertion of the Manic Street Preachers was all me. And there’s a prize if you can spot the Three Trapped Tigers sample. Not sure what yet, though…

Musical cast in order of appearance:

Death From Above 1979 – Dead Womb
Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci – Christmas Eve
Life Without Buildings – Envoys
Life Without Buildings – The Leanover
Beirut – Prenzlauerberg
Manic Street Preachers – Design For Life
Neon Neon – I Lust U (Heartbreak Remix)
Neon Neon – I Lust U
Faith No More – Stripsearch
Three Trapped Tigers – 10
Faith No More – Ashes to Ashes
Super Furry Animals – Drygioni
Sonic Youth – Unwind

Download it here.

